Continental Drift

June 18, 2010

Nouveautes

Filed under: Uncategorized — unaleona @ 3:43 pm

Last night as I walked home, I stopped to chat with the lady who sells the tastiest beans.  She even sometimes puts avocado in her salads.  “Maimouna,” she asked, “Where did you go?”

“I went to America!”

“What did you bring me back?”

“Nothing,” I admit, “I forgot.” I didn’t, but there’s only so much that will fit in a suitcase stuffed full of pretzels and Reeses, and I’ve only spoken to her twice. Heading off a lecture on the rules of Malian hospitality, I introduce myself to the guy waiting for beans.  When I tell him my last name is Diallo, he says “Your name is Diallo, do you eat lots of beans?”

“No, I have lots of cows in America.”

Bean lady interrupts back into the conversation

“Why did you leave them in America? You should have brought them back as a present for me!”

And with that, I’m certainly back.  As I turn to keep walking towards home a radio to my right blasts some familiar Kanye opening lyrics “I’m not saying she’s a Gold Digger…..” while on the other side of the street someone is playing what sounds like a kora.  With yesterday’s huge morning rainstorm, the change of seasons is official.  Every member of my family has suddenly, in one day, switched back to sleeping inside, so I am greeted by an empty courtyard instead of many sleeping bodies shrouded in colorful cloth.  I didn’t even need to turn on the fan to fall asleep.  Things are certainly much improved since the day I sweatily left in early May.

Sadjo came by this morning, she’s finishing her technical school degree to be a secretary next week.  She looks great riding off on her (borrowed) moto.

Diallo’s remodeled cafe is amazing, he’s getting so much more business than when I left, especially because everyone is coming to watch the world cup on his brand new tv.

I gave him a book of postcards of pictures of NYC, and he’s already stuck some up to decorate.

We’re thinking we should come up with a New York name for the place.

Suggestions so far: Oeuf et Boeuf (translation: eggs and meat/food, courtesy of Alex Ruby)

my attempt to riff on that with an American edge: Oeufs d’Obama

and a simpler: New York, NY

Can’t you see the skyline painted here?

Please send more ideas!

2 Comments »

  1. Under no circumstance may Diallo’s have a NY theme! Unless, of course, the resto is named “Washington > NY”. Actually, I kind of like that.

    The place looks amazing, though. Thanks for posting pics! And enjoy the rains.

    Comment by Alex R — June 25, 2010 @ 8:51 am | Reply

  2. It’s back! Whoopee! Best regards to Diallo. Stay dry.

    Dad

    Comment by Paul — June 26, 2010 @ 10:06 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

